Studydroid is shutting down on January 1st, 2019

Bookmark and Share

Front Back
Layer 1
Physical Layer - Defines the physical network, including cable plant, connection signal strenght, and so forth. Repeaters and hubs are implemented at this layer.
Layer 2
Data Link Layer - Provides for physical data transfer between hosts. The Media Access Control physical address is implemented at this layer and devices such as bridges.
Layer 3
Network Layer - Enables the implementation of logical host addresses such as network addresses, which is a requirement for routable protocol. Routers are implemented at this layer.
Layer 4
Transport Layer - Provides end-to-end message delivery. TCP and UDP are implemented at this layer.
Layer 5
Session Layer - Responsible for establishing, maintaining, and terminating communication sessions between hosts. Network security devices, such as IPSec endpoints are implemented here.
Layer 6
Presentation Layer - Provides data translation and encryption, which include implementations such as serializing objects or data structures into eXtended Markup Language.
Layer 7
Application Layer - Provides applications and users with access to network resources and includes implementation of protocols like FTP and SMTP. Application gateways operate at this layer.
x of y cards